Behavioral and Social Sciences Uncategorized

Regius Award Winners

Among the many distinguished alumni from the Social Sciences Department at Evangel University, the following have been honored over the years with the receipt of the Regius Award. They are representative of the varied professions served by the Social Science disciplines.

*All titles reflect the position the recipients held at the time the award was presented.

More about the Regius Award


1990: Bernard Bresson

  • Established the Social Sciences Department at Evangel University

1990: Arnold (Bud) Greve

  • Superintendent of Schools, Springfield, Missouri

1991: Donna Whiteman

  • Secretary of Human Services of the State of Kansas

1992: Judge Paul Spinden

  • Judge of the Missouri Court, Western Division

1993: Ted Papit

  • CEO of Black-Eyed Pea Restaurants

1994: G. Stanton Masters

  • Distinguished Attorney in Kansas City, Missouri

1995: Dr. David Moore

  • Senior Director of Administration, Convoy of Hope

1996: Dr. Ronald Cleek

  • Prosecuting Attorney, Christian County, Missouri

1996: Dr. Klaude Kendrick

  • First President of Evangel University

1997: Dr. Alex Karmarkovic

  • Contributed greatly to the Pre-law and Political Science Programs at Evangel University

1997: Dr. George O. Wood

  • General Superintendent of the Assemblies of God

1998: Dr. David Clark

  • President, Palm Beach Atlantic University

1999: Cori Holsinger Hartje

  • Director, Marketing and Readiness, Worldwide Licensing and Pricing-Microsoft Corporation

2000: Allan Caldwell

  • Assistant General Counsel, Koch Industries, Inc.

2001: Maria Rost Rublee

  • Management Analysis, Environmental Protection Agency

2001: Gregory Rublee

  • Branch Chief and Congressional Liaison, National Guard Bureau

2002: Dr. Daniel Johnson

  • President, University of Toledo

2003: Judge Samuel Der-Yeghiayan

  • Federal Judge of the Northern District of Illinois

2004/2005: Dr. J.C. Holsinger

  • Contributed greatly to the Social Sciences Department and the History Program at Evangel

2006: Dr. Donald Smeeton

  • Director of the Squires Library at Lee University

2007: the late Capt. Shane Mahaffee

  • Fallen Hero of Iraq War, 489th Civil Affairs Battalion

2008: E.J. Arnold

  • 2nd Secretary and Vice Consul Public Diplomacy Officer, Provincial Reconstruction Team, Diyala, Iraq

2009: Dr. Troy Paino

  • Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Truman State University

2010: Dr. John Deegan Jr.

  • Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs The National Defense University

2011: Bonnie Brewster

  • Tulsa, Okla., area schoolteacher and has served more than 30 years with the Girl Scouts of America

2012: Mr. John D. Harper

  • Vice President for External Affairs at Public Service Company of Oklahoma

2013: Mrs. Renee (Yniguez) Cotton

  • Advocate for the Maryland Coalition of Families for Children’s Mental Health