be_ixf;ym_202403 d_01; ct_100

2019 Wall of Fame for Evangel U. Communication alumni

Published on Oct 5, 2019 by Paul K. Logsdon


2019 Wall of Fame
The EU Communication Department honored graduates Lois Ephraim ’79 and Mark Jahnke ’01 as the sixth group of inductees onto its Wall of Fame. The plaques hang in the Ephraim Media Center, which is named for Lois’ parents. //


SPRINGFIELD, Mo. — Two Evangel University graduates were honored to be named to the Department of Communication Wall of Fame during the 2019 Homecoming celebration.

The presentation for Lois Ephraim ’79 and Mark Jahnke ’01 was held on Friday, Oct. 19.

Each year, the department chooses alumni to honor during a special ceremony attended by students, professors, alumni, family and friends of the honorees.

“It was great to welcome our alumni back to campus and share with our students their accomplishments,” says Dr. Cameron Pace, chair of the Communication Department and professor of film and television.

To be eligible for Evangel’s 2019 Wall of Fame, the alumni must be 40 years or older, have a successful career in a communication field, and continue to be a person of faith. Each awardee was nominated by other alumni and voted on by Communication Department faculty.


Evangel grad Lois Ephraim travels the world helping non-profit service organizations raise money for the needy. She has worked with Harrison Ford a couple of times. //

Lois Ephraim

For the last 30 years, Lois Ephraim has worked in direct marketing on both agency and client sides. She is currently the chief creative officer of the Moore DM Group in the Chicago area. Previously, she was the vice president and executive creative director for the Russ Reid Company.

In these positions, Lois has developed integrated fundraising campaigns on behalf of the nation’s leading non-profit organizations.

She has provided creative leadership for direct mail, television production and digital response fundraising on behalf of World Vision, Operation Smile, MADD, the American Red Cross, Mercy Ships, CARE, St. Jude’s Children’s Hospital, The U.S. Olympic Committee and others.

Lois has received awards as a producer and director from the Telly Awards, ECHO Awards, Caples, and Maxi Awards.

A 1979 graduate of Evangel College, Lois studied English, communication and management. She currently serves as a member of the Evangel Alumni Association Board of Directors.


2019 Wall of Fame

Mark Jahnke

Mark Jahnke has served the broadcast community since 2002. He is an expert at combining technical innovation with business strategy to produce top results within standards, deadlines and budgets.

Mark currently serves as vice president, chief information officer for South Carolina Educational Television (SCETV) in Columbia, S.C. In this role, he directs technological implementation, development, training, operations and infrastructure.

Prior to joining SCETV, Mark served as vice president and chief technology officer of the flagship Chicago public stations, WTTW and WFMT. He is a member of the Society of Broadcast Engineers and the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers.

A 2001 graduate of Evangel University, he is a member and former president of the Evangel Alumni Association Board of Directors.

Mark is married to Michelle (Myers) Jahnke, a 2002 broadcasting graduate of Evangel, and together they enjoy life with their six-year-old daughter.


The Communication Department

Each 2019 Wall of Fame honoree receives a crystal trophy to take home and a plaque that hangs in the Ephraim Media Center lobby, in the Department of Communication. The media center is named in honor of Lois’ parents, long-time supporters of Evangel University.

Evangel’s student media began with the newspaper when the University was founded in 1955, and opportunities have expanded with the changing times.

Students study video, audio and film production, journalism, public relations, advertising, public speaking, multimedia design and much more — all applied through methods of electronic media, print and oral communication.


About Evangel

Evangel University, with the Assemblies of God Theological Seminary (AGTS), is a comprehensive Christian university committed to excellence in educating and equipping students to serve the church and society globally.

Evangel and AGTS serve more than 2,100 students from all 50 states and numerous foreign countries, offering 70 undergraduate majors and 19 master’s and doctoral degrees.



SIDEBAR: Members of the Wall of Fame

2014 — Evangel launched the Communication Department’s Wall of Fame in 2014 with five inductees, all with Springfield ties:

  • “Aunt Norma” Champion, pioneer broadcaster and former State Senator;
  • Shirley Shedd, retired chair of the department;
  • Steve Grant, KY3 News anchor;
  • Kay Logsdon, vice president of The Food Channel/Noble Communication; and
  • Brandon Beck, KY3 News meteorologist.

2015 — Honored were:

  • Dave Davis, Hillcrest High School media teacher;
  • Krista Sederwall Casey, a managing producer for CBN; and
  • Dr. Norm Mintle, dean of the school of Communication and Creative Arts at Liberty University.

2016 — Honored were:

  • Steven Yake, Dove award-winner and Nashville-based film producer/director;
  • Dr. Tamara Tarpley Welter, chair of the Media, Journalism & Public Relations Department at Biola University; and,
  • Matt Wilkie, field team director for international service organization Convoy of Hope.

2017 — Honored were:

  • Lisa Swaim, associate professor of Cinema and Media Arts at Biola University;
  • Barry Copeland, network director of New Life Media; and
  • Paul K. Logsdon, director of public relations for Evangel University

2018 — Honored were:

  • Lloyd Parker Erdvig ’75, music radio veteran, Chief Operating Officer at WAY-FM; and
  • Amber Weigand Buckley ’97, writer, founding editor and art director of Leading Hearts magazine