Presidential Search - Evangel University be_ixf;ym_202002 d_23; ct_50


Presidential Search

The search for Evangel’s fifth president

The Board of Trustees of Evangel University has hired the national executive search firm CarterBaldwin to conduct a search for Evangel University’s fifth president. The Board is working to have a new president in place by the fall semester 2020.

The Presidential Profile, which includes qualifications and desired characteristics, can be found by clicking here or on the image.

To nominate a candidate or apply, click here to send an email.

Applications and nominations are being accepted. For best consideration, applicants should submit a letter of interest and a curriculum vitae by March 16, 2020.

The search process began with the Board of Trustees engaging CarterBaldwin and naming two committees, the Search and Selection Committees, to work on the search. The Search Committee and CarterBaldwin will work to generate a list of potential candidates by early spring. The Search Committee will present the list to the Executive Presbytery of the General Council of the Assemblies of God. The Executive Presbytery will review the list only to determine whether there is reason for a candidate to be disqualified.

Once the Executive Presbytery reviews the list, the Search Committee will go through a process to choose the best-qualified candidates. Those names will then be given to the Selection Committee, which will have in-depth interviews and complete the vetting process. The Selection Committee will ultimately narrow the pool to one candidate for final review by the full Board of Trustees.

The Board of Trustees will make the final appointment.

CarterBaldwin and the Board of Trustees hope to have the process wrapped up by the summer of 2020 to have a new president in place by August.

President Carol A. Taylor, Ph.D., announced plans to retire in August but has agreed to stay on until a new president is in place and to help in the transition.


Search Committee

Board of Trustee members (with Board committee assignments)

Lowell Harrup, Chair (clergy, Leadership Committee)

Frank Cargill (clergy, Leadership Committee)

Beth Grant, (clergy, Enrollment Management Committee, Seminary Board of Advisors)

David Lindell (clergy, Academic Committee, Seminary Board of Advisors)

Jim Lupica (laity, Audit & Finance committees)

Stan Masters (laity, Finance Committee)

David Peebles (laity, Advancement Committee)

Members of the Evangel faculty and staff (with position)

Jon Spence (faculty, Director, Center for Student Success)

Donna Washburn (faculty, Director, Center for Compassion)

Brandon Schmidly (faculty, Chair, Theology & Global Church Ministries)

Hector Cruz (staff, Director of Alumni Relations)

Selection Committee

All are members of the Board of Trustees

Lowell Harrup, Chair (clergy, Leadership Committee)

Doug Clay (clergy, Finance Committee)

Stan Masters (laity, Finance Committee)

Heather Rooney McBride (laity, Leadership Committee)

Randy Teuber (laity, Board Chair, Finance Committee)

Rod Thill (laity, Academic Committee)