be_ixf;ym_202403 d_04; ct_100

Evangel University Concert Orchestra releases album to iTunes, profits to help with tour costs

Published on Apr 3, 2014 by Valorie Coleman

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. – Evangel University Concert Orchestra’s ninth album, How Sweet the Sound, has been released to the public for purchase via iTunes and compact disc.

Profits from the sale of the album will go toward helping send the group on their summer tour, May 4-21. They will perform in Ohio, Pennsylvania, New York and Massachusetts.

The album includes 14 pieces, including several selections taken from the last 10 years of concert orchestra recordings.

“This CD is both new and retrospective because of its content,” said Dr. Larry Dissmore, director of concert orchestra. “Seven of the selections were recorded by current concert orchestra students, while the other seven are our most popular pieces from the first 10 years.”

Newly-recorded selections:

  • Amazing Grace, traditional
  • Sacred Head, Now Wounded, traditional
  • On Jordan’s Stormy Banks, arranged by Dan Goeller
  • Prelude on an Early American Folk Hymn, by Claude T. Smith
  • At the River, arranged by Jason Salazar (EU Music Faculty)
  • The Great Day, by Bernie Herms and Nichole Nordeman
  • Fiddle Faddle, by Leroy Anderson

Previous selections: 

  • Praise to the Lord, the Almighty, arranged by Camp Kirkland (The Concert Orchestra 1997 – 1997)
  • He’s Been Faithful, by Carol Cymbala (Enter His Gates – 1999)
  • Redeemed, arranged by Mark D. Johnson (Love Divine – 2001)
  • His Strength is Perfect, by Steven Curtis Chapman and J. Salley (Praise Him! – 2003)
  • Higher Ground, arranged by Dan Goeller (Always Faithful – 2005)
  • Thy Word, by Michael W. Smith and Amy Grant (For Christ Alone – 2007)
  • The God of Abraham Praise, arranged by Dave Williamson (For Christ Alone – 2007)

The concert orchestra began recording in 1997 and has since produced a new album every two years.

This is the concert orchestra’s first album to be made available in both traditional CD format and through electronic download via iTunes.

To purchase the album, go to and search “Evangel University Concert Orchestra.”

To order a CD through the music office, call (417) 865-2815, ext. 7212.

For more information, contact Dr. Larry Dissmore at (417) 865-2811, ext. 7214, or by email at (