be_ixf;ym_202403 d_04; ct_50

Evangel University student media win six first place awards

Published on Jun 13, 2013 by Valorie Coleman

Award-winning ECTV students produce a live broadcast of a Crusader basketball game last semester using their new remote broadcast unit.  (PHOTO BY: Paul K. Logsdon)

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. — Evangel student media recently received awards from the 2013 Missouri Broadcast Educators Association (MBEA) state competition.

The contest recognizes excellent student media produced during 2012. Professional media members serve as contest judges.

MBEA is the educational arm of the Missouri Broadcaster’s Association.

“We are pleased to have so many of our student broadcasters honored in this state competition,” said Dr. Cameron Pace, professor of communication. “The students’ level of dedication and professionalism is represented by these awards.”

Crusader Media Website

Evangel’s media website received the following MBEA award:

First Place Award, Multimedia

  • David Crowder, webmaster, senior computer science and digital arts major from Lee’s Summit, Mo.


Evangel’s television station, ECTV, received nine MBEA awards. Pace is the faculty adviser.

First Place Awards, Video


  • Chloe Lester, junior film major from Bee Branch, Ark.
  • Ruth Lowenberg, senior digital arts major from Springfield, Mo.

Documentary/Public Affairs

  • Andrew Grumke, senior digital arts and marketing major from Blue Springs, Mo.
  • Elijah Austin, junior film major from Hazel, S.D.
  • Luke Simpson, senior film major from Springfield, Mo.
  • Chloe Lester

Feature Film, “Second Sight”

  • Elijah Austin
  • Jonathan May, sophomore film major from Bigfork, Mont.
  • Jonathan Jones, junior film major from Mt. Holly Springs, Penn.

News Show, “Newswatch Today”

  • Kristin Craft, co-producer, senior broadcasting major from Leo, Ind.
  • Jessica Jurado, co-producer, junior film major from Vernon Hills, Ill.

Sports Show, “Sports Update”

  • Justin Canavan, co-producer, junior film major from Skiatook, Okla.
  • Jeremiah Jones, co-producer, senior broadcasting major from LeClaire, Iowa


Honorable Mention Awards, Video


  • Daniel Shedd, senior digital arts major from Ozark, Mo.
  • Jeremiah Jones

Documentary/Public Affairs

  • Jonathan Jarosinski, senior digital arts major from Pulaski, Wisc.
  • Jeremiah Jones
  • Jessica Jurado

Feature Film, “Anodyne”

  • Ricky Joe “RJ” Vickers, senior film major from Austin, Texas
  • Chloe Lester
  • Caleb Campbell, senior broadcasting major from Bolivar, Mo.

Short Film

  • Caleb Campbell
  • Chloe Lester
  • Christopher Orr, senior psychology major from Springfield, Mo.

For additional information, contact Dr. Cameron Pace, (417) 865-2811, ext.  8411.