be_ixf;ym_202309 d_24; ct_100

Evangel University honors faculty & staff for years of service

Published on Dec 23, 2015 by Paul K. Logsdon

Tom Keltner spotlighted for his 45 years

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. — Evangel University recently honored 52 members of its faculty and staff with service awards for milestone anniversaries. Each employee received a certificate and gift of appreciation.

The senior member of this group is Tom Keltner, who has served in the physical plant for more than 45 years.

Keltner joined the Evangel family at the age of 18 as a maintenance electrician, on July 10, 1970. He was promoted to technical trades supervisor in 1988, and has served as physical plant director since Sept. 1999. Keltner will retire from Evangel in the spring semester.

In 1997, the Evangel Alumni Board of Directors honored Keltner with their prestigious Distinguished Service Award.

Keltner is also known for his political career, having served two terms as mayor and three terms as alderman in Willard, Mo.

The Physical Plant staff serves the Evangel campus with maintenance, remodeling and construction trades including carpenters, electricians, painters, plumbers, custodians and grounds keepers.

2015 Employee Service Awards

45 Years:

  • Tom Keltner, director of the physical plant
2015-12.04 45 years, Tom Keltner


30 Years:

  • Chuck Cox, senior director of alumni relations
  • Dr. Mark Kelton, professor of speech
  • Dr. Sheri Phillips, vice president for student development
  • Dr. Peggy Reed, associate professor of education
  • Dr. Don Tosh, professor of mathematics
2015-12.04 30 years
Chuck Cox, Sheri Phillips, Mark Kelton, Peggy Reed and Don Tosh (CLICK TO ENLARGE)


25 Years:

  • Dr. James Hernando, chair, Department of Bible & Theology, AGTS
  • Jeaneen McNew, data specialist/secretary
  • Russ Murphy, supervisor of mechanical department
  • Dr. Cameron Pace, chair, Department of Communication
  • Murl Winters, reference librarian
2015-12.04 25 years
Russ Murphy, James Hernando, Cameron Pace (CLICK TO ENLARGE)


20 Years:

  • Gerald Edmonds, telecommunications technician
  • Dr. Bill Griffin, professor of Old Testament and Hebrew
  • Glenda Mohr, associate professor of theatre
  • Lacey Nunnally, director of the social work program
  • Cheryl Taylor, director of doctor of ministry program, AGTS
2015-12.04 20 years
Lacey Nunnally and Cheryl Taylor (CLICK TO ENLARGE)


15 Years:

  • Susan Bryan N.P., director of health services
  • Donna Copeland, executive assistant to the V.P. of academic affairs
  • Dr. Colleen Hardy, chair, Department of Education
  • Dr. Keith Hardy, chair, Department of Kinesiology
  • Tory Jackson, IT deployment specialist
  • Dale Jensen, director of library services
  • Dr. Martin Mittelstadt, professor of New Testement
  • Dr. Jean Orr, associate professor of behavioral sciences
  • Dr. Melody Palm, professor of counseling psychology, AGTS
  • Laura Sardo, assistant registrar
  • Dr. Donna Washburn, chair, Department of Behavioral & Social Sciences
  • Dr. Mark Wootton, professor of church ministries
  • Rebekah Young, supervisor of environmental services
2015-12.04 15 years
(Front, in black) Susan Bryan and Donna Copeland. (Back) Melody Palm, Jean Orr, Dale Jensen, Donna Copeland, Keith Hardy, Colleen Hardy, Marty Mittelstadt and Mark Wootton. (CLICK TO ENLARGE)


10 Years:

  • Dr. Diane Awbrey, professor of English
  • Crystal Bright, administrative assistant in the physical plant
  • Jonathan Dalton, groundskeeper
  • Teresa Devries, executive assistant to the V.P. of university advancement
  • Erika Dollin, dispatcher for public safety
  • Ladonna Friesen, assistant professor of English
  • Deb Gehris, coordinator of academic services, AGTS
  • Eric Gribben, painter
  • Susan Griffith, manager of H.R. benefits
  • Robin Horton, H.R. generalist
  • Dr. Don Johns, associate dean for undergraduate studies
  • Aaron Miner, coordinator of facilities
  • Chery Moos, administrative assistant for adult studies
  • Dr. Doug Oss, professor of theology, AGTS
  • Rob Price, assistant plumber
  • William Price, HVAC technician/boiler operator
  • Christy Rowden, director of student activities
  • Dr. Steve Smallwood, associate professor of church ministries
2015-12.04 10 years
(Front) Christy Rowden, Eric Gibben, Ladonna Friesen, Teresa Devries, Deb Gehris and Chery Moos. (Back) Steve Smallwood, Rob Price, Aaron Miner and Don Johns. (CLICK TO ENLARGE)


5 Years:

  • Dr. Shonna Crawford, assistant professor of education
  • Jackie Eutsler, administrative assistant in the alumni office
  • Julie Jones, administrative assistant, Department of Education
  • Mallory Lawson, assistant volleyball coach
  • Melissa Summerville, administrative assistant for career services
2015-12.04 5 years
Julie Jones and Melissa Summerville (CLICK TO ENLARGE)


PHOTOS BY: Paul K. Logsdon