be_ixf;ym_202212 d_02; ct_50

You Are Here:

Evangel’s HeartSong to release new single, Faithful, on April 21

Published on Apr 20, 2017 by Paul K. Logsdon

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. — Evangel University’s touring ensemble HeartSong will release a new single titled Faithful, on iTunes this Friday, April 21. The single comes at the end of HeartSong’s 24th year.

Faithful was written and produced by HeartSong drummer David Marquez, and was recorded in the Evangel University recording studio in the Barnett Fine Arts Center. Marquez is a freshman music industry major at Evangel.

Utilizing music-industry friends in his hometown of Houston, Texas, Marquez arranged for the song to be mixed by Emanuel Lemus at Konnexion Studios and mastered by five-time Grammy Award winner Jorge Santos at Omega Mastering Studios.

“I’ve been playing music since the age of five” said Marquez. “My family is full of preachers, pastors and musicians — I’ve been blessed to have the opportunity to play with recording artists Ricardo Sanchez and Daniel Johnson at Hope City church in Houston.”

The featured soloist on the single is Nick Daas, a senior music industry major from Orlando, Fla. Daas has been in HeartSong for four years and currently serves as the group’s president.

2017- EU HeartSong
HeartSong in concert at Evangel University. // PHOTO BY: Josh Boston (CLICK TO ENLARGE)

HeartSong is comprised of 11 singers and eight instrumentalists. According to its founding director, Dr. Bonnie Jenkins, their repertoire covers a variety of styles including contemporary worship, gospel and traditional.

“The message is clear,” said Jenkins, professor of music at Evangel. “We don’t need to fear what is ahead, as God is forever faithful.”

HeartSong travels throughout the Midwest on weekends and does extended tours during spring and summer breaks at Evangel. They have been in every state in the U.S. with the exception of Alaska.

“We have also traveled overseas to such places as Barbados, Amsterdam and Brussels. In 2014, we performed several concerts in Rome, Italy, including one at the Coliseum,” said Jenkins.

Their last album, Nothing Is Impossible, peaked at number 51 on the iTunes Christian and Gospel Top 100 chart.

HeartSong 2016-2017 members:

  • Anyssa Almendarez
  • Kathyrn Baker
  • Katheryn Byrd
  • Christian Cunningham
  • Nick Daas
  • Kacey Grissom
  • Brienna Kendall
  • Austin Kershaw
  • Madison Kolstad
  • Jordan Lemons
  • Joshua Little
  • Victoria Marques
  • David Marquex
  • Emma Miles
  • James Reynolds
  • Ricky Tatum
  • Luke Thomas

For more information on HeartSong, including booking opportunities, please contact Dr. Bonnie Jenkins at (417) 865-2811, ext 7334, or


Link to Faithful on iTunes